3D Prince George Buildings Map

pg_buildings

I’ve been working through some of the demos for Cesium JS (a JavaScript library for creating 3D maps), and came across this one demonstrating how to display the buildings of Nanaimo.

I was curious to see if the data exists for Prince George, BC, and it turns out, it does (PG Open Data Catalogue, buildings download)! I’m not 100% sure if this dataset was created manually or through automation, but I’m impressed with the level of detail.

The method I used to make this map* is actually shockingly simple. I downloaded the shapefile, saved it as GeoJSON in QGIS, and uploaded it to my server. Then, the JavaScript on the webpage incorporates Cesium, loads the geometry data from the GeoJSON, adds heights from the buildings’ attributes list, and sets the camera view. That’s how easily you can make a pretty neat looking 3D map of Prince George.

*note: there are over 30,000 buildings in this dataset. It takes about 30 seconds to load, for me. It may not work on your mobile devices.

One thought on “3D Prince George Buildings Map

  1. Pingback: 3D Buildings w/Vehicle | Darren's Side Projects

Leave a Reply

