Immersion wort chiller

20130420-140920.jpg
I’m not brewing beer this week, but I probably will get a batch started next weekend. One of the key parts of brewing is chilling the boiled wort (pre-beer) to yeast pitching temperature, quickly. Up until a few days ago, I was able to accomplish this by putting the wort pot in a snow bank in my front yard. But, with the arrival of spring, I needed to come up with a new plan.

This morning, I started researching other methods for cooling the wort, and decided to build an immersion wort chiller. Basically, cold tap water runs from a vinyl tube, through a copper coil (25′ long, 1/2″ OD), and deposits the water (and heat from the hot wort) down the drain. With the help of my plumber buddy’s tradesman’s discount, I was able to collect the necessary materials for $31.17 + tax. You can watch an exciting video of the wort chiller practicing for duty here.

Leave a Reply

