Arduino Parking Reminder

Image

Arduino parking countdown prototype

Since there’s only 2-hour parking around my work, I’m too cheap to buy a monthly parking pass, and I had an Arduino Uno waiting for a project, I made a timer that chirps two hours after the reset button is pressed (video with finished case here, finished timer counts to two hours). The code and circuit design are quite simple, so I’m not going to bother posting them unless there’s some interest – if you’re looking for examples like this one, you should probably explore the Arduino Playground.

Lesson learned: data types matter. It took me longer than I’d like to admit to figure out why I couldn’t count higher than 32 seconds in milliseconds with an int (hint: ints range from -32,768 to 32,767).

Leave a Reply

